Australia Skilled Worker Visa

Australia Skilled Worker Visa

Australia is one of the top preferred countries for people to pursue their careers. It offers excellent work opportunities to lead a quality life. For living and working in Australia on a temporary or permanent basis, one needs to apply for a suitable work visa. The requirements for working depend on the kind of visa you apply for. 

Skilled Visa

If you wish to apply for an Australian skilled migrant visa, you need to submit the online EOI, i.e., Expression of Interest on Skill Select. It is an online system that receives and processes applications for skilled migration in Australia. Upon selection of your profile, you might receive a nomination from an Australian state or employer to apply for the visa. 

The qualifying score is 65 for skilled sub-cases. Let’s have a look at the different types of skilled visa options:

From July 1, 2018, the following skilled migration visas were rolled out by the new point system. 

  • Skilled Independent Visa- Subclass 189

The visa sub-type was introduced to meet the shortage of skilled labourers in Australia. It is a type of permanent visa which falls under the point-based system. The applicants need to prove that they have the desired qualification or skills for an occupation listed in the skilled occupation list. The applicant should meet the basic visa requirements. 

This type of visa allows an indefinite stay in Australia and access to healthcare benefits. They can apply for citizenship after staying for 4 years and can sponsor their family for PR in Australia. 

  • Skilled Nominated Visa- Subclass 190

It is a permanent resident visa meant for individuals who aren’t able to meet the criteria of a skilled independent visa and those whose occupation is not listed in the medium and long-term strategic skills list. For getting this type of visa, the basic requirement is to get sponsorship from a state in Australia. The applicant must score 65 on the points test. 

The applicant must be sponsored by the state or territory government. They have full access to healthcare benefits and can apply for citizenship after staying for 4 years. 

  • Skilled Work Regional Visa- Subclass 489

It is a new type of visa that allows eligible skilled workers as well as their families to work and study in regional areas of Australia for up to 5 years. After 3 years, the visa holder can apply for PR. The applicant must be nominated by a state or territory government agency. Regional areas include everywhere place in Australia except Melbourne, Brisbane, Sydney, Perth, and Gold coast. 

The visa will now be accessible for more people as 500 new occupations can apply for this visa. The applicant must meet the point test criteria and should be under the age of 45 years. They must have a positive skill assessment for the occupation and competent knowledge of English. They must submit an expression of interest and be nominated by the state or territory government. 

For more information and assistance on skilled worker visa Australia, get in touch with us today.

Get in Touch with Trusted
Immigration Consultants

Get Free Consultation

Certified International Lawyers

Khaleej Times
IELTS logo
IDP Logo
home affairs
Migration Agents

BestCheap Residential Proxies